My life. Your resource.











{July 18, 2009}   Sound Asleep with Sona

For the past few months, I’ve been having problems sleeping.  My boyfriend-now-fiancee is a loud snorer and I, being a light sleeper am kept awake especially on those crucial nights when I need ample rest, like, say before the beginning of a work week.   He’s tried the nose strips, but they would eventually slip off of his face and he would proceed to snore loudly. 

Well, around Christmas season 2008,  I was walking around in the Newport Center Mall in Jersey City, and I found the answer to my prayers–The Sona Pillow. 

According to www.sonapillow.com,  “The Sona Pillow is a clinically proven medical device which has been extensively studied through research and sleep studies to treat snoring and mild sleep apnea.”  With its shape, the pillow is designed to cause the sleeper to sleep on the side which allows the sleeper to open up breathing passages.  The result leads to a sound and restful sleep for the person with sleep apnea, and a peace of mind for me. 

My boyfriend tried the pillow and has been using it for about three weeks now.  After completing the first night’s sleep, he claimed to have noticed feeling more energetic than before.  On my end, I also noticed a change, as I too have been enjoying a more peaceful night’s sleep than usual because his snoring seems to have subsided, but not completely–it’s not as loud as it used to be.  

By observation, Sona in is effective if you sleep on your side–this is also indicated in the product packaging.   Side sleepings enables you to open your breathing passages.  It is not effective for those who sleep on their backs. 

With any product, Sona has its drawbacks on my fiancee.  It tends to slip off of his head when he uses it, so once in awhile, either he or I have to pick it up from the floor. 

Like any products, it is advisable that you consult with your doctor before purchasing Sona. 

Sona can be purchased in Brookstone by visiting:  or by going to a store near you.  It costs around $100.  I managed to to get it on sale around Christmas season, but if the extra $30 was the difference between good and bad sleep, I would definitely pay the extra money.

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
